Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


We celebrated Father’s Day the 16th of June and it was a mission trying to think of what to make my dad on his ‘special day’. Now…what is it that I could give to my dad that he would love and remember for a long time (and have everyone enjoy as well).. then it hit me“I’ll make a soufflé cheesecake!” -Okay, not that special, but it’s still something nice.

For it being my first attempt at making a soufflé I was very happy when the sweet, ethereal baked good came out to sweet perfection. I was so proud! I got it on the first try and not a single screw up.

The pretty

Looks nice, right?!

Here’s how the delicious Father’s Day treat looked.

IMG_5648IMG_5650IMG_5652IMG_5653pizap.com13716976351401Cheesecake souffleSouffle CheesecakeIMG_5664

I was amazed with how little ingredients this recipe required! I mean honestly, only three ingredients?! WOW!! Who knew that all you needed to make this soufflé was: 3 eggs, 3 white chocolate bars, and 5 ounces of cream cheese. Before I get too detailed with what I did, here’s where I found the recipe.

Now here’s where I modified the recipe. First of all, when measuring the exact portions or ounces, I found the measurements almost too little of ingredients with the cream cheese and to me it smelled and felt as though it would be almost too sweet so I added a fourth ingredient to the soufflé.

The original recipe is and sounds delicious and you do not need to pair this soufflé with any other side such as fruits, whipped toppings.. none of that. It is unnecessary. Just a quick dusting of confectioners (icing) sugar and you’re done.

Modified Version: Father’s Day Soufflé Cheesecake

Ingredients:
– 3 eggs
– 3 (4.3oz) white chocolate bars
– 5oz. Cream cheese
– 1tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

– Preheat oven to 320° F. Separate egg yolks from the whites. Place egg whites in a large mixing bowl, cover and store in refrigerator until needed. leave egg yolks in a small bowl at room temperature.

– Pour water into a pot and put to boil. In a separate bowl, break chocolate into small pieces. When water has come to a boil, remove from heat and place bowl on top of pot acting as a double boiler and melt the white chocolate until smooth and glossy. Next, add cream cheese, melt together and remove bowl from the pot.

– Mix well. Add egg yolks and vanilla extract. Mix till well combined.

– Grab egg whites from the fridge, with a hand mixer, whisk the egg whites until firm peaks form. If you’re brave enough try the “inverted test”. If you meringue does NOT fall out of the bowl you’re right on!

– Mix in 1/3 of the meringue into the cream cheese mixture at a time until smooth and airy. DO NOT OVER MIX!!

– Line baking pan with parchment paper (you can use a 9″ baking pan) and pour soufflé mixture into the pan. Drop the pan lightly, three time to release any air bubbles. On a cookie sheet, place baking pan and pour hot water into cookie sheet and carefully put it in the oven.

– Raise the temperature to 338°F (170°C) and bake for 15 minutes. Then lower the temperature to 320°F (160°C) for 15 minutes then stop baking and with remaining heat bake for 15 minutes. A total of 45 minutes. Place on a cooling rack and have it cool for 15 minutes. Remove from cake pan and plate.

Your soufflé should come out soft, almost ethereal. Dust with confectioners sugar and done! You can eat it as it is or, what I did which was place it in the refrigerator for a night and let the flavors infuse together and you’re left with a delicious sweet, cream cheese and vanilla taste. Not too sweet, not too sour, just right!

The pretty

Tons of Love Bites,

Izzy