Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


I’ve had just about enough of these silly nicks, gashes, cuts- you name it, I’ve had it. Not even a month into the new year (not entirely at least), and I’ve already sliced my thumb on a mandoline while making cucumber salad and tonight after enjoying my second beer; my nice, tall glass falls or explodes (not sure what the hell happened), and I slice my ring finger on the same hand my thumb was sliced.

*sigh* Accident prone indeed.

However, it was not all bad. I’ve been on the hunt for a Dark Rye Bread recipe that shares a resemblance to the one we would purchase for the restaurant. Of course, I look forward to this new lesson, for not only am I a lover of all things baking, but it serves a great purpose as a new learned technique in the kitchen. 🙂

So, after reading some rather helpful pages from a few books lent to my by favourite British chap and bartender, I found a recipe that was inexpensive yet still shared similarities to the bread purchased two days prior.

Bought the molasses, rye flour, cocoa powder- yes cocoa powder; and the rest was in the restaurant. Have I mentioned the last time I put my arms to work when kneading bread was about 2 years ago?! Needless to say, my biceps were feeling the burn and my arms were killing me.

First rising took about 20 minutes, but I let it rest for 30 minutes- and of course my patience for this was TERRIBLE!

Punched it down, cut it in two, shaped it to a loaf, brushed it with oil, sliced and back to another rest period, only now for two whole hours. Like hell I was going to wait for two ours- yet I did somehow after enjoying my shift drink. Afterwards, I shoved it in the walk-in and now it stays rising in a cold area over night and will repeat another rising tomorrow morning.

Ugh.. going into work on your day off just to bake some bread.. it’s okay. Bread making in it self is a rather intricate learning experience and an experiment of its own. However, it is rather fun, no less.

