Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


It’s a drink that my dad had introduced to me some time ago during our usual chats that lead to intriguing historical lessons and trying either a new food or drink. It seems that particular night called for a mysterious, natural-green colored spirit referred to, in historical literature, as “la fée verte” (the green fairy), but known today by many, simply as Absinthe. By many, I mean the ignorant majority, which I was part of, but having been given a rather amusing lesson and given a new insight in the history of this anise flavored, fennel sweet concoction I no longer can just think of Absinthe as being a mere “liquor.”

Absinthe drink

Quite a peculiar flavor for a spirit, not one I’m too partial to for that matter- I could never really take any pleasure in enjoying licorice as a candy, let alone in a drink. I suppose I can only ‘handle’ so much of the spirit due to its mixture of botanical flavors of anise, grand woodworm, sweet fennel and other medicinal and culinary herbs. Perhaps I did not take a liking to it for I only tried it straight after being poured from the bottle- I did not dilute the beverage as it is done traditionally with a beautifully detailed Absinthe spoon designed to perch a cube of sugar safely atop the glass, over which ice-cold water is dripped to PROPERLY dilute the absinthe.

Absinthe_spoonsPreparing_absinthe

To show you what these herbs look like, if you’ve never caught a glimpse of them or ever had the pleasure of seeing these culinary herbs in your kitchen, here’s a few of the herbs/leaves that is used to create Absinthe.

Green Anise Grande Wormwood Sweet Fennel Anise seeds

It may not be my cup of tea, but perhaps I’ve yet to give it a second chance when it has been diluted to its proper state as the well-known beverage, but for one I know that it is not to my fancy. Although I do believe my boyfriend may appreciate its sweet licorice-like flavor.

Thought my history lesson was short, I at least gained a new appreciation for this green spirit that was enjoyed by very well-known individuals throughout history- Oscar Wilde and Vincent Van Gogh being a part of that group. It is a “thinking mans” drink, sipped, not guzzled down and at times was reserved for those who could find nothing but Absinthe to be the strongest alcoholic beverage that would help ‘wet their noses’ if you get what I mean. With that I leave you all with a new-found interest in what is Absinthe.

Enjoy!

