Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


I don’t know how it is for you, but if there’s a super ripe banana on the counter I make sure to put it to good use, rather than having it go to waste. I hate throwing away food, it’s just not right. You’re throwing away money and food that still had value- unless there’s mold growing on it no thanks to you!

Anyway, whenever I see fruit being bought, to then seeing no one eat it but me until there remains the fairly ripened ones, I get to thinking if I can make something with it- I usually do. Which is what I did with that über ripened banana I used to make Banana Bread. It’s delicious and something of treat for me, then again most things are since I do not get to indulge much on anything.

Now you may be thinking, “oh, it’s not problem, you’ve done it before”, but to be honest, I’ve not ever made Banana Bread from scratch before in my life! o,.,o Who knows what kind of catastrophe I could have concocted in the kitchen- I’m only joking, for I doubt I would cause such trouble, otherwise I’d shoot myself in the foot each opportunity I got for stepping in the kitchen. ‘Now, now, we mustn’t play violently with ourselves’…’ahem’ well, yes, carrying on; I am quite happy to tell you that it went well and it was (as always) delicious! X3 I was very proud and for this first attempt at making Banana Nut Bread and since it was such a success; I will share my ‘right off the bat’ recipe that I came up with on the spot. haha

Also, if I’d have been that bad in the kitchen, do you honestly think anyone who’s eaten my cooking would be alive at this very day and time?! I think not, nor would my gorgeous boy, so I’m very proud to say that I kick butt in the kitchen so far! Oh yeah! XD Now, to the good part; the recipe.

Banana Nut Bread

Ingredients:

-one super ripe banana
-1 tbsp cinnamon
-1 stick of unsalted butter, room temperature
-1 egg
-1 1/2 cups all purpose flour, sifted
-1/2 granulated sugar
-1/2 cup walnuts, roughly chopped
-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
-1/2 cup of milk
-baking powder
-pinch of salt

To Make:
Preheat oven 350 degrees F
Mash banana in a small bowl, until it looks like mush.
In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until well combined. Add egg, mix well. Whisk in vanilla extract, banana, and cinnamon.
Sift in flour a third at a time. When all flour has been sifted in bowl; add baking soda and salt, fold the batter into itself.
Roughly chop walnuts, fold into batter. Now your batter may look perfect, but you will want to pour a third of the milk into your batter at a time and mix, but DO NOT make batter like liquid! You want it to have a nice consistency of a smooth, ethereal batter that holds and does not ooze.
Pour batter into bunt pan or bread pan that’s been buttered. Bake for 45 minutes or when golden-brown- use the toothpick test.
Remove from oven, let it cool for 15 minutes, now devour!
You’re welcome banana lovers.

20131212-212126.jpg

20131212-212155.jpg

20131212-212208.jpg

