Tags

, , , , , , ,


Sorry for not keeping to my recipe updates as of late. It’s been crazy here with class, helping my nonna, getting things done around the house and setting appointments at the vet for the furry ones (the turtle is still doing fine though). I do apologize, but I hope tonight’s recipes will serve well for my lack of recipes. So here’s a quick update since it is 12:05 and late for me since I have midterms tomorrow.

Mornings for me begin at 5:25 on the dot. Majority of the time, breakfast consists of an egg with ham on rye bread with a tomato or an egg on rye with plain yogurt and the fruits I add in. A delicious breakfast, yes, and one that is according to Montignac. Remember to always eat an apple 15 or 20 minutes before the meal to raise the blood sugar.

Now it all sounds really good having such a delicious breakfast and a healthy one, but on those days when I wake up a little “too” late, I need something that I can slice and eat on the walk to the trolley stop. So a berry bun cake made of a vanilla batter with blackberries/blueberries/and strawberries was the perfect solution to this little conundrum.

Tangled Berry Bundt Cake:

Ingredients-

  • 8 or 10 blackberries (careful, they have seeds)
  • 2 handfulls of blueberries
  • 7 strawberries, sliced
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400° F. In a medium bowl, sift in flour, baking soda, and salt.

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter, sugars, eggs and vanilla extract. When mixed well, add half the milk to the mixture. Sift dry ingredients to the wet ingredients,mix well. Add the remaining milk to the batter, then gently fold in the berries to the mixture.

Bake for 30 minutes, or until golden at the top. Insert a toothpick to check is cake is baked. Enjoy with a raspberry jam or alone. Enjoy ❤

Now that the cake was done, it was off to town to run some errands and lately I’ve been dying for some heart or liver. Okay, mostly heart, but sadly there was none at the grocery store so liver it was.
Yeah I’ve heard it all: “ew, liver tastes gross” or “yuck, I’m not eating it, it smells awful”. Well I have news for you, you’d stink too if you were raw meat and an organ.
But before I have you turning heads to the other way.. It really isn’t all that bad. You just need to know how to cook it and what to pair it with.

Dinner: Liver
Ingredients-

  • four thawed, liver slices
  • 1 1/2 onions, sliced
  • rosemary
  • salt (you can use sea salt)
  • black pepper

Directions:

In a large skillet pan, drizzle some olive oil and sauté onions till they become almost wilted. In the same pan, add the liver and season with salt, pepper, and rosemary. Cook all together with the onions. DO NOT OVERCOOK THE LIVER!

When onions have a caramel color to them the meal is done. NOTE: You want the onions “carameled” so the natural sweetness of the onion brings out the flavor of the liver, but with an appealing taste for the pallat to enjoy, rather than go “yuck”.

Now here’s where I might have you turn your head to the opposite directions for after enjoying my savory dinner while talking with my sweet friend Brian (who stopped by for a visit); we decided to watch Cyst and abcess videos on Youtube. How the hell do people let a zit/mosquito bite get to that point? Ouch. >,.,<

But my dinner stayed right where it was after I ate. Yeah, I have a strong stomach! ^,.,^ But I know a few people who do not.. hmm, perhaps I should show them the video.

