Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


I’ve been lost in the world of baking and my happy self was all too comfortable with the molasses that I just let that baby go! -Thankfully I fixed my screw in the nick of time and made a fresh batch-

For quite some time now I’ve been dying to make these delicious cookies, although I never found them to be appetizing at all when I was little. They tasted just as how I imagined when I bit into my very first gingerbread cookie, AWFUL! I couldn’t believe it, a cookie that looks so pretty and yummy, tasted like a rock solid cookie of crap. >,.,<

Let’s just say I steared clear from sinking my fangs into a gingerbread cookies neck for the many years to come, except now when I recently discovered a recipe by Paula Deen (that oh so very sweet Southern Georgia lady in the kitchen).

Now I’m not saying anything, I loved her recipe the way it sounded, but recipes are made to be modified to your liking no matter what. So I did some tweaking and modified these gingerbread cookies with fresh ingredients to really bring out the flavor.

“They’re better than Gingersnaps” my friend Abdel said while him and Jess ate away at the yummy cookies. I of course, being the cookie killer, bit the head off the cookie that held a sign saying “HELPME!”.

So here’s the delicious Gingerbread cookie recipe from Paula Deen, modified by me. Hope you Enjoy!

Christmas Tree Gingerbread-

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 stick unslated butter, room temperature
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup Molasses
  • 3 1/2 cups All-Purpose Flour, plus more for dusting work surface
  • 11/2 tsp freshly ground ginger, if not you can use 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

Cream butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar in a large mixing bowl. Add an egg at a time to the butter mixture. Pour in molasses and mix until well combined.

In a separate bowl, sift in flour, cinnamon, baking soda, freshly grated nutmeg, and salt. Add to the butter, molasses mixture a third at a time. When combined, add freshly grated ginger and mix till well combined with spatula.

On a clean surface, place a large sheet of parchment paper and remove dough from bowl onto parchment paper. It’ll look like a big turd, haha. XD Wrap your “turd” dough in the parchment paper and then wrap the parchment papered dough in plastic wrap. Place in fridge and let rest for one hour.

After waiting on that yummy dough to firm up, take out of fridge. Remove plastic wrap and on a clean work surface/counter top, place parchment papered cookie dough. You’ll use the parchment paper to save you the use of too much flour, but in a small bowl put flour to use for rolling pin and cookie cutter.

On the unwrapped piece of parchment paper, keep dough on parchment paper, flour the rolling pin and roll out cookie dough to 1/8 to a 1/4 of and inch. I prefer to roll out to an 1/8. Flour your cookie cutter and stab your cookie dough with love. ❤

Should yeild 36 tree cookie cut out dough. In a preheated oven of 350 degrees Fahrenheit, bake you gingerbread tree cookies for 15 minutes.

Time for icing! Get your piping bags (or ziplock bags).

When it comes to making icing, for anything, I’m extremely picky when I’m going to use it on cookies and the taste of icing can differ, which is just fine since everyone has different tastes, but I like mine to be on the citrusy side with a bit of sweetness. 😉

Vanilla-Lime Icing:

  • 1 cup Confectioners’ Sugar
  • Juice from 1/2 a lime
  • 1/4 of Vanilla Extract

Add lime juice to confectioners’ sugar, mix then add vanilla extract. Separate in 1/3 to add food coloring (VERY little). Then decorate your now cooled cookies and bite off their little heads or tree tips. Mwuahahaha

IMG_4175 IMG_4176 IMG_4177 IMG_4179 IMG_4180 IMG_4181 IMG_4182 IMG_4183 IMG_4184 IMG_4185 IMG_4186 IMG_4187 IMG_4188 IMG_4189 IMG_4190 IMG_4191 IMG_4192 IMG_4193 IMG_4194 IMG_4195 IMG_4196 IMG_4197 IMG_4199 IMG_4201

IMG_4202IMG_4204

Tons of Love Bites,

Izzy

