Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


Every October 31, my mother and her coworkers (among many other employees at her work) host a bake sale for cancer patients or fundraisers to help out in the medical campus and many other organizatinos that help find cures for many illnesses. And every night, before October 31, I get lost in the world of baking and mischief in the kitchen.

Now I usually make my signature, and orgasmic (as how I’ve been told haha) sugar cookies, but this time I wanted to go for something entirely different and new to the bake sale for many to enjoy. So pumpkin snickerdoodle was the victor out of the many ideas in my brain and so off I went into my craft and made my very first pumpkin snickerdoodle and I must say they came out quite delicious and they were so fluffy; I was astounded by how beautiful they were and baked. But there was of course my very first attempt (I made two batches) in which I put baking soda. NOT a great idea. The baking soda gave the cookie an acidic/chemical taste in the end. So I killed the baking soda and perfected the second batch. Here is my recipe for this delicious twist on an all time classic.

Pumpkin Snickerdoodle with Cinnamon Sugar-

Ingredients:

  • 2 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon, or 1/2 tsp
  • 1/4 nutmeg, freshly ground
  • 1/8 cloves (optional)
  • 1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 2 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt (kosher salt or regular salt)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Preparation:

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and 1 1/2 cups of the sugar. Add egg, vanilla and pumpkin puree and mix but just enough to not fully incorporate pumpkin and butter mix.

In a medium bowl, sift in flour, baking powder, cream of tartar, nutmeg, cloves, cinnamon and salt. Add in 1/3 cup gradually to wet ingredients until fully combined. Batter will be a little sticky.

In a small bowl, add the remaining sugar and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Mix. With a spoon, scoop out a teaspoon full or tablespoon full (however you like) of the cookie dough and roll in cinnamon sugar.

On two cookie sheets, lined with parchment paper, place cookie dough two inches apart from each other. Repeat until cookie sheets are full.

Place in a preheated oven at 350 degrees Fahrenheit and bake for 15 minutes. Let cool for 00:05 minutes. Package in a little bag or cookie tin and give as a luxury present for December or hide away in a cookie plate/jar and enjoy.

Tons of Love Bites,

Izzy

20121212-003350.jpg20121212-003402.jpg20121212-003416.jpg20121212-003428.jpg

