Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


The highlight of my morning today: listening to The Spookshow on my way to college and devouring a delicious brownie. Mmm Yummy

But with my ingenious brain and crazy ideas, I decided to head out to the grocery store (Publix) and stock up on some nifty Caution tape with a spooky feel to it (it’s only natural). Now I was not expecting the thunder-storm that surrounded my area to head in the direction of my destination (thankfully I brought an umbrella) but my GOD!!! As soon as I got off the Trolley and made my way with my long legs in my comfy Demonia boots, making my way through the garage every one and their mother were there trying to escape the oncoming rain. It was only thundering, let alone sprinkling. Yet it was nothing to cower away from, although apparently anyone who lives here in Miami, Florida is always afraid and trying to avoid the rain as fast as possible as though it were hydrochloric acid dripping down from the sky to bathe them and melt away their flesh to leave nothing but bone..-*pitter-pat, pitter-pat* ow my skin!!-. haha

After having my fun from watching the “people show” and making my caution tape list (along with buying a few little things for brownie treat) it was off for home. I was going to bake the brownie, but then I got a little creative and decided on making it a dry batter.

“Dry batter?” “Izzy you’ve gone off the deep end”.. No I haven’t, really! I’ll explain.

How I’ve received wonderful comments all the time of any little treat that I make or food dish for that matter, I’ve also received many, many questions on how to make them or what the recipe is. Of course, there’s only so much I can explain face-to-face with the one asking, not having any paper to write on. So why not give them a dry batter!? It has all the ingredients in a jar (decorated however you like really, I paint them sometimes with my signature) and attach a small piece of paper with the directions and tadaa! A sweet present and new recipe for those to learn.

Dry Batter Brownie in a Jar-

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup Ghirardelli cocoa powder (or regular cocoa powder)
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 6 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, coarsely chopped (you can also use dark chocolate)

Makes 1 jar of brownie mix, yields 24 brownies

Preparation-

Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Pour mixture into a 1-quart jar. Add cocoa powder to the jar on top of flour mixture (it’s going to be in layers). Layer sugar followed by a layer of the coarsely chopped chocolate.

Seal with lid, attach a label with instructions for the recipient and decorate jar if you like.

To make brownies:

12 tbsp (1 1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted

2 large eggs, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

;

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, lightly grease a baking pan. In a large mixing bowl, add dry contents and whisk them together. Add butter, eggs and vanilla extract. Stir well, spread batter into prepared baking pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Let cool, cut into squares and serve.

;

20120929-000950.jpg Here’s a simple yet cute example I could find since I, sadly, did not have the jar and was unable to make this present today. But mine always has a dark touch with lace and bats. ^,.,^

Well, I do hope you enjoy my recipe for brownies (don’t worry, the name doesn’t mean how it will come out). They will be yummy brownies, I assure you.

But what would it be making this cute present, without any music? It would most definitely be missing something. So here are two songs I would listen to, one for the preparation and the other for the decorating (I’m a painter, what can I do.. I take my time).

Preparation: Dead Man’s Bones– My Body’s a Zombie for You

Decorating/Craft: And One– Military Fashion Show

Tons of Love Bites,

Izzy

